Center for Civic Engagement

Woerner Kollmorgen Award for Community Service

About Louise Woerner and Don H. Kollmorgen

Nazareth College is pleased to announce that the tenth annual Woerner Kollmorgen Award for Community Service will be held on April 27, 2017 from 8:00-10:00AM at Nazareth College. 

Since 2007, Nazareth College has had the privilege of administering The Woerner Kollmorgen Award for Community Service. This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the greater Rochester community, thereby improving the quality of life.

Honorees demonstrate a dedication to the values espoused by Nazareth College: a concern for and commitment to underserved individuals, ethical personal and professional behavior, and leadership.

Previous recipients of the award include Naomi Silver, Dr. Richard Constantino, Gary Rogers, Dr. Walter Cooper, Bob Wayland-Smith, J. Christine Wilson, Justin L. Vigdor, Thomas J. Cray, and Dr. T. Franklin Williams and Carter Catlett Williams.

This award continues to be made possible by a generous donation from Louise Woerner and Don H. Kollmorgen.


Civic Engagement Awards

President's Civic Engagement Awards

At this annual awards ceremony in April, we celebrate students, faculty, staff, and community partners who "make a difference in their own world and the world around them." We gather to share our service stories, and to honor and celebrate the vibrant organizations with whom we serve. We also celebrate the commitments that Nazareth students, faculty, and staff make toward leading a civically engaged life, volunteering time and talents to our community, and inspiring others to become caring, active, and informed members of our society.

The following areas of recognition are awarded to students, faculty, staff and community partners at the annual President’s Civic Engagement Awards:

  • Community Service Awards
  • Newman Civic Fellowship Award
  • Partners for Learning Award
  • Jessica Shackelton Maclay Partners for Serving Award
  • Service-Learning Champion Awards
  • Center for Spirituality Award
Award Details