Liberal Arts Resources

syllabus_heading_B
Sample Syllabus I

The Liberal Arts (PHL/LST 375)

REQUIRED TEXTS
COURSE DESCRIPTION
STUDENT LEARNING OUTCOMES
REQUIREMENTS
GRADING
ACADEMIC INTEGRITY

Sample Semester Schedule

The Liberal Arts Today

Mon, Jan 14

Introduction

Wed, Jan 16

R. Nussbaum, “The Old Education and the Think-Academy” (1-14) & “Socratic Self-Examination” (15-49)

The Liberal Arts Today

Mon, Jan 21

R. Nussbaum, “Citizens of the World” (50-84) & “The Narrative Imagination” (85-112)

Wed, Jan 23

R. Nussbaum, “The Study of Non-western Cultures” (113-147) & “The ‘New’ Liberal Education” (293-301)

The Structure of the Cosmos

Mon, Jan 28

R. Brague, “An Ethical Cosmos” (106-120) (Reserve)

Wed, Jan 30

R. Brague, “A Cosmological Ethics” (120-153) (Reserve)

Boethius and Liberal Learning

Mon, Feb 4

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (1-22)

Wed, Feb 6

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (22-48)

Boethius and Liberal Learning

Mon, Feb 11

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (49-125)

Wed, Feb 13

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (126-150)

The Seven Liberal Arts

Mon, Feb 18

R. Chapters 1 & 2 in The Seven Liberal Arts in the Middle Ages (1-57

Wed, Feb 20

R. Grammar in The Seven Liberal Arts in the Middle Ages (58-95)

The Seven Liberal Arts

Mon, Feb 25

R. Rhetoric & Dialect in The Seven Liberal Arts in the Middle Ages (96-146)

Wed, Feb 27

R. Arithmetic in The Seven Liberal Arts in the Middle Ages (147-168)

The Seven Liberal Arts

Mon, Mar 4

R. Music & Geometry in The Seven Liberal Arts in the Middle Ages (169-217)

Wed, Mar 6

R. Astronomy & Beyond in the Liberal Arts in The Seven Liberal Arts in the Middle Ages (218-282)

SPRING BREAK

Mon, Mar 11

No classes this week

Wed, Mar 13

No classes this week

The Iconography of the Liberal Arts

Mon, Mar 18

Katzenellenbogen, Adolf. “The Representation of the Liberal Arts” (Reserve)

Wed, Mar 20

Masi, Michael. “Boethius and the Iconography of the Liberal Arts” (Reserve)

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

Mon, Mar 25

R. Mark Edmundson, “On the Users of a Liberal Arts Education”

Wed, Mar 27

R. David Foster Wallace, “This is Water”

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

Mon, Apr 1

R. All Things Shining (1-87)

Wed, Apr 3

R. All Things Shining (88-117)

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

Mon, Apr 8

R. All Things Shining (118-189)

Wed, Apr 10

R. All Things Shining (190-223). Film: Being in the World

Liberal Learning Across Cultures

Mon, Apr 15

R. Tao te Ching (1-81)

Wed, Apr 17

R. Tao te Ching

Liberal Learning Across Cultures

Mon, Apr 22

R. Bhagavad Gita (13-112)

Wed, Apr 24

R. Bhagavad Gita (113-198)

 

Sample Semester Schedule

The Liberal Arts Today

Mon, Jan 13

Introduction

Wed, Jan 15

R. Nussbaum, Not for Profit (1-26)

The Liberal Arts Today

Mon, Jan 20

R. Nussbaum, Not for Profit (27-120)

Wed, Jan 22

R. Nussbaum, Not for Profit (121-154)

The Structure of the Cosmos

Mon, Jan 27

R. Brague, "An Ethical Cosmos" & "A Cosmological Ethics"  (106-153) (e-reserve)

Wed, Jan 29

R. Plato, Republic (e-reserve)

Boethius and Liberal Learning

Mon, Feb 3

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (1-22)

Wed, Feb 5

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (22-48)

Boethius and Liberal Learning

Mon, Feb 10

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (49-125)

Wed, Feb 12

R. Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (126-150)

Liberal Learning

Mon, Feb 17

R. Pieper, Leisure: The Basis of Culture (3-60)

Wed, Feb 19

R. Pieper, Leisure: The Basis of Culture (63-97)

Liberal Learning

Mon, Feb 24

R. Pieper, Leisure: The Basis of Culture (98-156)

Wed, Feb 26

R. Roche, Why Choose the Liberal Arts? (1-50)

Liberal Learning

Mon, Mar 3

R. Roche, Why Choose the Liberal Arts? (50-145)

Wed, Mar 5

R. Roche, Why Choose the Liberal Arts? (147-172)

SPRING BREAK

Mon, Mar 10

No classes this week

Wed, Mar 12

No classes this week

The Iconography of the Liberal Arts

Mon, Mar 17

Katzenellenbogen, Adolf.  “The Representation of the Liberal Arts” (e-reserve) and Masi, Michael.  “Boethius and the Iconography of the Liberal Arts” (e-reserve)

Wed, Mar 19

Presentation on The Medieval University. Sourcebook: The Rise of Universities by Charles Homer Haskins (New Brunswick: Transaction Publishers, 2004)

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

Mon, Mar 24

R. Mark Edmundson, "On the Uses of a Liberal Arts Education" (e-reserve)

Wed, Mar 26

R. David Foster Wallace, "This is Water" (e-reserve) and R. All Things Shining (1-87)

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

Mon, Apr 31

R. All Things Shining (88-117)

Wed, Apr 2

R. All Things Shining (118-189)

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

Mon, Apr 7

R. All Things Shining (190-223)

Wed, Apr 9

Film: Being-in-the-World (http://beingintheworldmovie.com/)

Liberal Learning Across Cultures

Mon, Apr 14

R. Tao te Ching (1-81)

Wed, Apr 16

R. Tao te Ching

Liberal Learning Across Cultures

Mon, Apr 21

R. Bhagavad Gita (13-112)

Wed, Apr 23

R. Bhagavad Gita (113-198)

Sample Syllabus II

The Liberal Arts (PHL/LST 375)

COURSE DESCRIPTION
REQUIRED TEXTS
STUDENT LEARNING OUTCOMES
REQUIREMENTS
GRADING
STATEMENT ON RESPECT AND DIVERSITY
STATEMENT ON PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
ACADEMIC INTEGRITY STATEMENT

Sample Semester Schedule

Week 1

8/26 – 28

Introduction: The History and Iconography of the liberal Arts

• Stahl & Burge, Martianus Capella (Betrothal & Marriage; Arts as assigned)

Week 2

9/2 - 4

The History and Iconography of the liberal Arts, continued

• Katzenellenbogen, Adolf. “The Representation of the Liberal Arts” (e-reserve)

• Masi, Michael. “Boethius and the Iconography of the Liberal Arts” (e-reserve)

• Class Presentations on the Arts

Week 3

9/9 - 11

The Liberal Arts Today

Nussbaum, Not For Profit (1-26)

Week 4

9/16 - 18

The Liberal Arts Today, continued

• Nussbaum, Not For Profit (27 - 154)

Week 5

9/23 - 25

The Structure of the Cosmos

• Brague, "An Ethical Cosmos" & "A Cosmological Ethics" (106-153)
(e-reserve)

• Plato, Republic (e-reserve)

Week 6

9/30

Boethius & Liberal Learning

• Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (Introduction; Book I; Summary)

• Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (Book II)

Week 7

10/7 - 9

Boethius & Liberal Learning, continued

• Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (Book III)

• Boethius, The Consolation of Philosophy (Book IV)

Week 8

10/14 - 16

Liberal Learning

• Pieper, Leisure: The Basis of Culture (3-60)

• Pieper, Leisure: The Basis of Culture (61-17)

Week 9

10/21 - 23

Liberal Learning, continued

Pieper, Leisure: The Basis of Culture (98-156)

Roche, Why Choose the Liberal Arts? (1-50)

Week 10

10/28 - 30

Liberal Learning, continued

• Roche, Why Choose the Liberal Arts? (50-145

• Roche, Why Choose the Liberal Arts? (147-172)

Week 11

11/4 - 6

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?

All Things Shining (88-117

All Things Shining (118-189)

Week 12

11/11 - 13

What is the Value of a Liberal Arts Education?, continued

• R. All Things Shining (190-223)

• Film: Being-in-the-World (http://beingintheworldmovie.com/)

Week 13

11/18 - 20

Liberal Learning Across Cultures

Tao te Ching (1-81)

Tao te Ching

Week 14

11/25

Liberal Learning Across Cultures continued

Bhagavad Gita (13-112)

Bhagavad Gita (113-198)

Week 15

12/2

Concluding discussion; turn in final papers; exam review

Exam Week

12/6 - 12

Final Exam Due: Midnight, Thursday, December 4.

Note that an automatic extension of the due date to midnight, Monday, December 8 is allowed, if you feel you need it. You do not need to ask for this extension, and taking it will not adversely effect your grade.

The Final Exam must be submitted to the professor in two ways:

1) a hard copy left in Dr. Roth’s mailbox and

2) in pdf form sent via email (mroth1@naz.edu).