Wind Symphony premieres 2012 Sandy Hook reflection

March 4, 2018 3 – 4:30 p.m.

Wind Symphony premieres Sandy Hook reflection

Jared Chase, conductor
Katie Hannigan, mezzo-soprano

The Nazareth College Wind Symphony, conducted by Dr. Jared Chase, will premiere "Into the Silent Land" by Rochester-based composer Steve Danyew on Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 3 p.m., in Linehan Chapel, Golisano Academic Center on the campus of Nazareth College at 4245 East Avenue, Rochester, 14618. "Into the Silent Land" is a reflection on the 2012 tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School. Danyew attended the school for two years. The concert also features the music of Ives, Mahler, Daugherty. Admission is free.

The Wind Symphony will reprise this concert as part of the 2018 College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) Eastern Division Conference, which will take place March 7-10, 2018 at Yale University in New Haven, Conn. 

Charles Ives: March No. 6, “Here’s to Good Ol’ Yale”
Kathryn Salfelder: Cathedrals
Gustav Mahler: Um Mitternacht from Rückert-Lieder
                         Der Tamboursg’sell from Des Knaben Wunderhorn
                                Katie Hannigan, mezzo-soprano
Steve Danyew: Into the Silent Land (World Premiere)
                         Katie Hannigan, narrator
Michael Daugherty: Of War and Peace

Nazareth College Music Department
4245 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14618
585-389-27000 |

Wind Symphony premieres 2012 Sandy Hook reflection


Jul 29
Sacred Texts and Human Contexts: Religions and the (De)Legitimization of Violence July 29–July 31, all day
Aug 1
2018 Veterans Affairs Mental Health Summit 7:40 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Aug 11
Volunteer for Rochester Parks Clean-up with Seneca Park Zoo Society 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Aug 24
Faculty Art Show 2018 August 24–September 30, all day
Aug 24
Geological Paintings August 24–October 19, all day
submit an event