News Archive

Phi Kappa Phi Gives Nazareth National Honor of Excellence

Published March 19, 2019

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recognizes outstanding chapters each year for their work through the Circle of Honor Chapter Awards Program and Nazareth College has achieved Circle of Excellence Gold status for 2018-19. The Circle of Honor Awards Program recognizes chapters for their work in promoting excellence on the local campus and engaging the community of scholars each year. The Circle of Excellence Gold recognition also provides funding for students to attend PKP's Leadership Summit.

Nazareth recently inducted its fifth class into the College’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi—the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society.  Eligible students and faculty were inducted during a special ceremony on campus on March 1st.

Undergraduate inductees are: Emily J. Aman, Makenna Benson, Alyssa Benziger, Alyssa M. Bileschi, Allison Brown, Jessica E. Brown, Emma Sophia Carey, Robert Coatsworth, Shannon Marie Dablock, Michaela Rae Darbyshire, Danielle M. Dirks, Katelyn M. Dowdall, Abigail Elman, Daniel Freilicher, Sydney Gagliano, Natasha Kasandra George, Alycia Gimler, Jaleesa Chrystal Harewood, Sara K. Jamieson, Madison Joseph, Mary Patrice Laird, Claire Marino, Meghan Mendola, Gabrielle E. Merry, Madeline Ann Mitchell, Melissa Newcomb, Anna Norman, Gabrielle Palumbo, Rose Pedretti, Maria B. Quagliana, Jasmeliz Rivera, Cheyenne Robinson, Hannah Serencsics, Sarah Spano, Elizabeth Straub, Jody L. Taylor, Nicole Waild, Emily L. Welch, and Alyssa Wlodarczyk.

Graduate inductees are:

College of Arts and Sciences: Aldi D. Priyanto

School of Health and Human Services: Sarah E. Berg, Charis S. Happ, Elizabeth Martinez, Michelle Louise Miller, Lana R. Orrange, Michelle Powderly, Nicole Taylor White, and Melody A. York

School of Education: Brogan O’Halloran, Sean D. Pelkowski, Karen A. Troiano, and Kristina M. Wells

School of Business and Leadership: Renata Sarah Amico, Terra Buttram, Keri-Lynn Colicchio, Satchmo Hastings, Samantha M. Peebles, Cara Radley, Eric Matthew Rowland, and Melissa Wade

Additionally, Dean of the School of Business and Leadership, Kenneth S. Rhee, was inducted along with the following faculty members: Cathy A. Leverone and J.J. Mowder-Tinney.

In 2013 Nazareth College became the 320th chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, which was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine. The Society’s mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.” Membership in Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation only to the top 7.5 percent of juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students, along with faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

For more information on Nazareth College’s Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, visit

For More Information

Julie Long | Chief PR Officer | 585-389-2456 or

Learn more - Phi Kappa Phi

Nazareth College’s academic strengths cross an unusually broad spectrum of 60 majors, including education, health and human services, management, the fine arts, music, theater, math and science, foreign languages, and the liberal arts. The coeducational, religiously independent, classic campus in a charming suburb of Rochester, N.Y., challenges and supports 2,300 undergrads and 700 graduate students. Nazareth is recognized nationally for its Fulbright global student scholars and commitment to civic engagement. Rigorous programs, an uncommon arts and sciences core, experiential learning, career skills, and a global focus prepare graduates for not just one job, but for their life’s work.

2019 Phi Kappa Phi Class at Nazareth College.