Nursing Department

Faculty and Staff

Mary Dahl Maher

Mary Dahl Maher

Associate Professor and Chair, Coordinator of Nursing Global Studies and Director of the Public Health Program in Nursing
585-389-2759
mmaher7@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 221A
Bio

Education: B.S.N., D'Youville College; M.S.N., Case Western Reserve University; M.P.H., University of Rochester; Ph.D., University of Rochester

Teaching and Research Interests: Midwifery, global public health, international education and women's studies. Recent research and publications include perinatal outcomes of Latina migrant farmworker women, international nursing dual-degree programs, and the influence of first-wave feminism on the professionalization of nursing.

Marie J. Bell

Marie J. Bell

Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2718
mbell5@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 221C
Bio

Education: B.S.N, University of Rochester; M.S., Nazareth College; Ed.D., St. John Fisher College

Teaching and Research Interests: Medical and surgical nursing, critical care, geriatrics, transcultural nursing. Recent research has focused on functional decline in older adults and health disparities.

Stephanie Claire Brown

Stephanie Claire Brown

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
syates7@naz.edu
Colleen A. Carmody-Payne

Colleen A. Carmody-Payne

Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2713
ccarmod1@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 283A
Bio

Education: B.S., Niagara University; United States Air Force sponsored M.S. in Nursing, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, Colorado; Ed.D., St. John Fisher College

Teaching and Research Interests: Pediatric nursing, analysis and application of learning using advanced level pediatric simulation scenarios, graduate and undergraduate research, health promotion, NCLEX-RN preparation, and interprofessional education. Research activities include program assessment and evaluation, emergency nursing disaster preparedness and readiness, and vaccine management. 

Kristie Cekus

Kristie Cekus

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
kcekus3@naz.edu
Nancy J. Chernak

Nancy J. Chernak

Clinical Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2445
ncherna1@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 223C
Bio

Education: B.S. University of Rochester; M.S., University of Rochester as a Pediatric Clinical Nurse Specialist

Teaching and Research Interests: Pediatric and neonatal critical care nursing

Laura F. Clay

Laura F. Clay

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
lclay7@naz.edu
Cindy Covill-Eckert

Cindy Covill-Eckert

Visiting Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2709
ccovill9@naz.edu
Gina M. DiGuardi

Gina M. DiGuardi

Assistant Professor Clinical Visiting in Nursing
585-389-2709
gdiguar8@naz.edu
Lynda J. Dimitroff

Lynda J. Dimitroff

Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2481
ldimitr9@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 282
Bio

Education: B.S.N., State University of New York College at Brockport; M.S.Ed. in Grief Counseling, State University of New York at Buffalo; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University Carbondale; Certification as a Masters Certified Health Education Specialist and Leadership Coach

Teaching and Research Interests: Leadership, nursing research, evidence-based practice, interprofessional collaboration, and mindfulness-based stress reduction in registered nurses and nursing students. Recent research has focused on building a professional practice model with registered nurses at an acute care facility, and the impact of journaling on registered nurses.

Amber M. Farr

Amber M. Farr

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
afarr81@naz.edu
Debra Finley-Cottone

Debra Finley-Cottone

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
dfinley6@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 281
Annmarie F. Flanagan

Annmarie F. Flanagan

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
aflanag1@naz.edu
Deborah A. Forth

Deborah A. Forth

Clinical Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2712
dforth2@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 223D
Bio

Education: B.S.N, University of Rochester; M.S.N. (focus in oncology) University of Rochester; Nurse Practitioner (adult care/oncology focus), University of Rochester

Teaching and Research Interests: Health assessment of adult patients, assessment and management of pain (acute and chronic), palliative care

Maureen M. Friedman

Maureen M. Friedman

Professor in Nursing
585-389-2730
mfriedm9@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 223B
Bio

Education: B.S. Nursing, University of Rochester; M.S. Nursing, Ohio State University; Ph.D. Nursing, University of Rochester. Fellow of the American Heart Association’s Nursing Council.

Teaching and Research Interests: Community health nursing, cardiac symptom recognition, and health-seeking behaviors in adults. Recent research and publications about symptom recognition and health behaviors in adults with heart failure.

Sara N. George

Sara N. George

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
sgeorge3@naz.edu
Caitlynn E. Harmon

Caitlynn E. Harmon

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
charmon6@naz.edu
David Grant Hewitt

David Grant Hewitt

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
dhewitt0@naz.edu
Linda J. Holderle

Linda J. Holderle

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
lholder4@naz.edu
Hannah M. Livingston

Hannah M. Livingston

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
hliving4@naz.edu
Helene M. Lovett

Helene M. Lovett

Senior Department Assistant in Nursing
585-389-2709
hlovett8@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 221
Katie Maxey-Brock

Katie Maxey-Brock

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
kmaxeyb0@naz.edu
Heather McGrane Minton

Heather McGrane Minton

Lecturer in Public Health in Nursing
585-389-2709
hminton8@naz.edu
Shelby A. Murphy

Shelby A. Murphy

Lecturer in Public Health in Nursing
585-389-2709
smurphy2@naz.edu
Christine M. O'Brien

Christine M. O'Brien

Clinical Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2710
cobrien1@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 221B
Bio

Education: B.S.N., City University of New York; M.S.N., University of Rochester

Teaching and Research Interests: Clinical expert in psychiatric nursing with strong focus on decreasing social stigma and empowering others in a recovery model. Specialty background in eating disorders, depression, and trauma recovery.

Terri J. Pretino

Terri J. Pretino

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
tpretin0@naz.edu
Jennifer Elseta Reid

Jennifer Elseta Reid

Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2736
jreid9@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 264
Bio

Education: B.S., Brooklyn College; B.S.N., Alfred University; M.S., Nazareth College, Ed.D., St. John Fisher College; Certification as a Geriatric Nurse Practitioner

Teaching and Research Interests: Health care disparities, cultural competence in B.S. nursing students, and in health care providers; geriatric health and wellness.

Irlande Robillard

Irlande Robillard

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
irobill0@naz.edu
Sheila D. Rogers

Sheila D. Rogers

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
srogers5@naz.edu
Aida Santiago

Aida Santiago

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
asantia9@naz.edu
Samantha L. Sassone

Samantha L. Sassone

Clinical Assistant Professor in Nursing
585-389-2761
ssasson7@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 283D
Bio

Education: Master's in Nursing, Keuka College (focus in Education), B.S.N. Keuka College; A.A.S Nursing, Finger Lakes Community College

Teaching and research interests: Clinical expert in critical care, hospice/ palliative care. Specialty background in trauma, disaster nursing, and legal nurse consulting.

Theresa Seguin

Theresa Seguin

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
tseguin3@naz.edu
Bonnie J. Walden

Bonnie J. Walden

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
bwalden3@naz.edu
Sandra A. Wall

Sandra A. Wall

Lecturer in Nursing
585-389-2709
swall5@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 283C