Social Work Department

Faculty and Staff

Phone: 585-389-2753

Email: socialwk@naz.edu

Fax: 585-389-2757

Virginia V. David

Virginia V. David

Professor of Social Work / Director, GRC-MSW Satellite Sites in Social Work
585-389-2751
vdavid4@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 363B
Bio

Education: M.S.W., Syracuse University

Teaching and Research Interests: Ethics and child welfare service delivery.

Read full bio.

Carol A. Brownstein-Evans

Carol A. Brownstein-Evans

Professor/Chairperson/Co-Director of the MSW Program in Social Work
585-389-2756
cbrowns3@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 388C
Additional Positions:
Professor & Co-Director of the MSW Program in Master of Social Work
Bio

Education: B.A., University of Maryland; M.S.W., Syracuse University; Ph.D. Social Science, Syracuse University, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.

Teaching and Research Interests: Maternal substance abuse and child welfare issues.

Read full bio.

Leanne W. Charlesworth

Leanne W. Charlesworth

Professor and BSW Program Director in Social Work
585-389-2755
lcharle8@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 388B
Bio

Education: B.A., Cornell University, M.S.W., SUNY at Albany, and Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University.

Teaching and Research Interests: Welfare reform, child and family issues, poverty, and social policy.

Read full bio.

Jed Metzger

Jed Metzger

Associate Professor in Social Work
585-389-2479
jmetzge9@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 363A
Bio

Education: B.A. Psychology, Emory University; M.S.W., New York University; Ph.D. Clinical Social Work, NYU.

Teaching and Research Interests: Kinship care; the application of service learning to the development of civically engaged social workers.

Read full bio.

Mark A. Primus

Mark A. Primus

Clinical Assistant Professor in Social Work
585-389-2752
mprimus4@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 381B
Bio

Education: B.A Sociology, Roberts Wesleyan College; M.S.W., Syracuse University; Ph.D. candidate, Syracuse University.

Teaching and Research Interests: Caribbean families and fathers, African-American father-child relationships, paternal identity, and childhood development within a cultural context.

Read full bio.

Shirley A. Sharp

Shirley A. Sharp

Clinical Associate Professor/ Director of Field Education BSW Program in Social Work
585-389-2758
ssharp1@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 381A
Bio

Education: M.S.W., Smith College

Teaching and Research Interests: Family services, residential treatments, and sexuality education.

Read full bio.

Laura Peterson

Laura Peterson

Senior Department Assistant in Social Work
585-389-2753
lpeters7@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 386
Charlie Christopher Albanese

Charlie Christopher Albanese

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
calbane5@naz.edu
Fatima Clarke Banister

Fatima Clarke Banister

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
fclarke6@naz.edu
Anne O'Brien Bauer

Anne O'Brien Bauer

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
abauer8@naz.edu
Debra J. Baxter

Debra J. Baxter

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
dbaxter5@naz.edu
Jerry Callan

Jerry Callan

Clinical Assistant Professor / Director of Field Education for the MSW Program in Social Work
585-395-8453
gcallan5@naz.edu
Brockport Metro Cntr
Bio

Education: University at Buffalo, M.S.W.; SUNY Brockport, M.P.A.

Teaching/Research/Scholarly Interests: Over 30 years of experience at Hillside Family of Agencies helping to meet the needs of youth and families in child welfare, mental health, juvenile justice, and developmental disabilities services. Trained Hillside staff, private and public agencies, and taught courses in Human Services at the community college level. Leadership in interprofessional collaboration at schools and residential treatment settings. Focus on "Family Finding" (a model for reconnecting individuals who have become disconnected from their families), effective clinical supervision, leadership, and management in not-for-profit organizations.

Read full bio.

Anita Cooper-Molinero

Anita Cooper-Molinero

Assistant Professor Visiting in Social Work
585-389-6921
acooper31@naz.edu
Smyth Hall 384
Bio

Education: Bachelor of Science in Social Work (Magna cum Laude), SUNY Brockport; Master of Social Work, Roberts Wesleyan College; Ph.D. in Human Services, Capella University

Areas of Academic Interest: cultural diversity issues, cultural linguistics, social justice, facilitating cultural competency training, and closing the academic achievement gap. As a social work practitioner, I have worked with children and adults in a variety of settings. I taught at Monroe Community College across 3 disciplines and departments: Transitional Studies, Human Services, and Visual and Performing Arts. At SUNY Brockport's Social Work Department, I taught Contemporary Issues in Social Work.

Nicholas Joseph Coulter

Nicholas Joseph Coulter

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
ncoulte1@naz.edu
Barbara Jean A. Douglass

Barbara Jean A. Douglass

Assistant Professor in Social Work
585-395-8456
bdougla4@naz.edu
Brockport Metro Cntr
Bio

Education: Ph.D. in Education, University of Rochester; M.S.W., San Francisco State University, concentration: Community Organizing; B.A. in Women’s Studies, San Francisco State University

Teaching/research interests: Orphan trains (the origin of formalized adoption in the United States), cultural competence training of faculty in schools of education, adoption and LGBTQ issues.

Full biography.

Estella Norwood Evans

Estella Norwood Evans

Faculty Emerita in Social Work
585-389-2753
eevans3@naz.edu
Jeffrey A. Footer

Jeffrey A. Footer

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
jfooter4@naz.edu
Kimberly H. Fortin

Kimberly H. Fortin

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
kfortin9@naz.edu
Erica M. Freeman

Erica M. Freeman

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
efreema7@naz.edu
Yasmin Habib

Yasmin Habib

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
yhabib9@naz.edu
David L. Hall

David L. Hall

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
dhall5@naz.edu
M Carolyn Hilarski

M Carolyn Hilarski

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
mhilars0@naz.edu
Pamela A. Kaus

Pamela A. Kaus

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
pkaus8@naz.edu
Kelly L. Noyes

Kelly L. Noyes

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
kkemp4@naz.edu
William L. Pollard

William L. Pollard

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
wpollar5@naz.edu
Melanie R. Saber

Melanie R. Saber

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
msaber4@naz.edu
Thomas A. Schlee

Thomas A. Schlee

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
tschlee3@naz.edu
Mary Schweitz

Mary Schweitz

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
mschwei7@naz.edu
John Shafer

John Shafer

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
jshafer9@naz.edu
Sherrie L. Smith

Sherrie L. Smith

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
ssmith3@naz.edu
Brad Snyder

Brad Snyder

Coordinator of Admissions, Registration and Student Services / GRC-MSW in Social Work
585-395-8452
bsnyder9@naz.edu
Brockport Metro Cntr
Michael R. Stone

Michael R. Stone

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
mstone4@naz.edu
Paul Swiatek

Paul Swiatek

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
pswiate9@naz.edu
Katy E. Troester-Trate

Katy E. Troester-Trate

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
ktroest0@naz.edu
Helen Wadsworth

Helen Wadsworth

Lecturer in Social Work
585-389-2753
hwadswo4@naz.edu
Nicole West

Nicole West

Secretary - GRC-MSW in Social Work
585-395-8450
nwest2@naz.edu
Brockport Metro Cntr