Academic Information for Faculty

Academic Policies and Procedural Information

Academic Policies

Monitoring Academic Policies

The Provost monitors student complaints received in the office of the Provost. As appropriate, the Provost is responsible for referring issues that emerge from this process to the Academic Policies and Procedures Committee, the Committee on Undergraduate Academic Standing or the Graduate Advisory Council, which are charged with recommending or reviewing revisions to academic policies relating to undergraduate and graduate students.

Academic Policies and Procedures Committee:

Charge: The committee resolves problems related to academic issues and develops and revises academic policies and procedures as necessary. For significant policy changes, the committee makes recommendations to the Dean’s Council and seeks approval from them before making changes. 

Chairperson: Director of Academic Advisement

Committee on Undergraduate Academic Standing

Charge: Review the records of undergraduate students who are not in good academic standing and who are therefore subject to probation or dismissal. This committee is responsible for upholding the college’s academic standards as outlined in the undergraduate catalog and for making determinations on student appeals of their academic standing.

Chairperson:  Associate Vice President for Retention and Student Success

Graduate Advisory Council

Charge: The Graduate Advisory Council is responsible for providing leadership and advocacy of plans and initiatives for graduate education. In this capacity, the Council will be available to work collaboratively with administration, and other members of the college community, as strategic partners in monitoring the overall health and advancement of graduate education with a goal to create a strong graduate student experience.

ChairpersonAssociate Provost 

Other Policies and Procedures:

Academic Affairs General Information

Academic Affairs Administrative Offices

Provost
Dr. Maureen F. Finney ~ mfinney5@naz.edu

Associate Provost
Dr. Maria Hopkins ~ mhopkin8@naz.edu

Associate Provost of Student Experience
Dr. Kim Harvey ~ kharvey8@naz.edu

Associate Vice President for Experiential Impact
Dr. Emily Carpenter ~ ecarpen1@naz.edu

Assistant Vice President in Academic Advisement
Ms. Amy Fisher ~ afisher3@naz.edu

Dean, College of Interprofessional Health and Human Services
Dr. Cathy Rasmussen ~
 crasmus0@naz.edu

Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Sciences, Business, and Education
Dr. Thomas Lappas ~ tlappas4@naz.edu

Interim Dean, College of Visual, Performing Arts, and Design
Dr. Maureen Finney ~ mfinney5@naz.edu

Center for International Education
Dr. Nevan Fisher ~ nfisher2@naz.edu

Honors Program
Dr. Stephanie Zamule ~ szamule5@naz.edu

Institutional Research and Assessment
Ms. Julie Rao ~ jrao2@naz.edu

Lorette Wilmot Library
Ms. Ilka Datig ~ idatig5@naz.edu

Office of the Registrar
Registrar - Rachel Scott ~ rscott21@naz.edu

Office of Research, Scholarship, and Innovation
Ms. Margaret Murphy ~ mmurphy22@naz.edu 

 

College of Interprofessional Health and Human Services

Dean
Dr. Cathy Rasmussen, crasmus0@naz.edu   

Communication Sciences & Disorders
Chair: Dr. Megan Tobin, mtobin9@naz.edu

  • Graduate Speech-Language Pathology Program                            
    Acting Director: Dr. Melissa Johnson, mjohnso2@naz.edu

Creative Arts Therapy
Chair: Dr. Stephen Demanchick, sdemanc8@naz.edu

Nursing
Chair of Nursing: Bonnie Walden, bwalden3@naz.edu
Chair of Public Health: Dr. Mary Dahl Maher, mmaher7@naz.edu

Occupational Therapy
Chair: Dr. Julie Kunisch, jkunisc4@naz.edu

Physical Therapy
Chair: Dr. Andrew Opett, aopett5@naz.edu

Social Work
Chair: Dr. Leanne Charlesworth, lcharle8@naz.edu

College of Liberal Arts, Sciences, Business, and Education

Dean
Dr. Thomas Lappas, tlappas4@naz.edu

Biology
Chair: Kelly Hutchinson-Anderson, khutchi8@naz.edu

Biomedical Sciences
Program Directors:
Dr. Lauren Brooks, lbrooks9@naz.edu and
Dr. Sanela Lampa-Pastirk, slampap3@naz.edu

Chemistry
Chair: Dr. Stephen Tajc, stajc3@naz.edu

Clinical Lab Sciences
Program Director: Dr. Matthew Schoell, mschoel6@naz.edu

English & Communication
Chair: Dr. Gregory Foran, gforan4@naz.edu

Ethical Data Science
Program Director: Dr. Wendy Norris, wnorris0@naz.edu

Global Sustainability
Program Director: Devparna Roy, droy9@naz.edu

HESAA
Program Director: Dr. Rebecca Fahy, rfahy6@naz.edu 

History, Politics  and Law
Chair: Dr. Timothy Kneeland, tkneela8@naz.edu

Legal Studies
Program Director: Dr. Noel Wolfe, nwolfe3@naz.edu

International and Global Studies Program
Program Director: Dr. Nevan Fisher, nfisher2@naz.edu

Mathematics
Chair: Dr. Heather Lewis, hlewis5@naz.edu

Philosophy
Chair: Dr. Scott Campbell, scampbe8@naz.edu

Psychology
Chair: Dr. Douglas Gutheil, dguthei0@naz.edu

Religious Studies
Chair: Dr. Corinne Dempsey, cdempse6@naz.edu

Sociology & Anthropology:
Dr. Kim McGann, kmcgann5@naz.edu

Women and Gender Studies
Program Director: Dr. Yamuna Sangarasivam, ysangar7@naz.edu

World Languages and Cultures
Chair: Dr. Hilda Chacon, hchacon6@naz.edu

School of Business and Leadership

Associate Dean
Dr. Joseph Porter, jporter8@naz.edu

Undergraduate programs

Graduate Programs

  • Global Business and Leadership
    Program Director: Mr. Joseph Porter,  jporter8@naz.edu
  • People Analytics & Leadership
    Program Director: Mr. Stephen Hill, shill93@naz.edu
  • Marketing Communications Leadership
    Program Director: Mr. Bryan Adams, badams1@naz.edu
  • Leadership and Organizational Change
    Program Director: Mr. Mark Weber, mweber9@naz.edu

 

Associate Dean 
Dr. Shanna Jamanis, sjamani9@naz.edu 

Chair 
Dr. Meg Callahan-Steckley, mcallaha5@naz.edu

School of Education Undergraduate Programs

  • Undergraduate Inclusive Early Childhood/Childhood Education
    Program Director: Dr. Eileen Radigan, eradiga9@naz.edu 
  • Undergraduate Inclusive Adolescent Education Program
    Program Director: Dr. Margaret Callahan-Steckley, mcallah5@naz.edu

School of Education Graduate Programs

  • Graduate Inclusive Early Childhood/Childhood Education Programs
    Interim Program Director: Dr. Susan Sturm, ssturm6@naz.edu
  • Graduate Inclusive Childhood Education Programs
    Interim Program Director: Dr. Susan Sturm, ssturm6@naz.edu
  • Graduate Inclusive Adolescent Education Programs
    Program Director: Dr. Rui Cheng, rcheng9@naz.edu
  • Graduate Literacy Programs
    Interim Program Director: Dr. Laura Jones, ljones1@naz.edu
  • Graduate TESOL Programs
    Program Director: Dr. Rui Cheng, rcheng9@naz.edu
College of Visual, Performing Arts, and Design

Interim Dean
Dr. Maureen Finney, mfinney5@naz.edu

Art & Design
Chair: Dr. Doot Bokelman, dbokelm7@naz.edu

School of Music
Director: Dr. William Hudson, whudson0@naz.edu
Associate Director: Dr. Jared Chase, jchase6@naz.edu

Theatre & Dance
Interim Co-Chairs: Heather Roffe, hroffe4@naz.edu
                                  Emily Stork, estork0@naz.edu

Honor Societies

Phone and email is available in the Nazareth Directory. Search for the last name of the honor society's contact person.

  • American Council of Academic Physical Therapy - National Physical Therapy Student Honor Society, Jennifer Fay & Mary Therese Novak
  • Gamma Kappa Alpha – National Italian Honor Society, TBD
  • Lambda Pi Eta – National Honor Society for Communications Studies, TBD
  • Omicron Delta Epsilon – International Honor Society for Economics, TBD
  • Phi Alpha, Kappa Lambda Mu Chapter - National Honor Society of Social Work, Leanne Charlesworth
  • Phi Alpha Theta – National History Honor Society, TBD
  • Phi Eta Sigma – National Honor Society for Freshmen w/High Scholastic Achievement, Mary Anne Parker  
  • Phi Kappa Phi – All Discipline Honor Society, Nevan Fisher
  • Phi Lambda Upsilon – National Chemistry Honor Society, Stephen Tajc
  • Pi Delta Phi – National French Honor Society, Mireille Le Breton
  • Pi Gamma Mu – International Social Science Honor Society, TBD
  • Pi Kappa Lambda – National Music Honor Society, John Reef
  • Pi Lambda Theta – National Education Honor Society, Meg Callahan-Steckly
  • Pi Mu Epsilon – National Mathematics Honor Society, Heather Lewis
  • Psi Chi – National Honor Society in Psychology, Ryan O'Loughlin & Christy Fessler
  • Sigma Beta Delta – International Honor Society for Business, Rose Hair
  • Sigma Delta Pi – National Spanish Honor Society, TBD
  • Sigma Iota Rho – International Affairs Honor Society, Olena Prokopovych
  • Sigma Phi Omega – National Honor Society of Gerontology, David Steitz
  • Sigma Tau Delta – International English Society, Suhail Islam
  • Sigma Theta Tau International Pi Psi Chapter – National Honor Society of Nursing, Marie Bell
  • Theta Alpha Kappa – Religious Studies Honor Society, TBD

Endowed Chairs

Rose Marie Beston Endowed Chair
The Kilian J. and Caroline F. Schmitt Endowed Chair
William H. Shannon Chair in Catholic Studies Endowed Chair
Rosemary White Endowed Chair Of English and American Literature

Teaching Excellence & Student Success Awards

Faculty Accomplishments