Center for Civic Engagement

President's Civic Engagement Awards

At this annual awards ceremony in April, we celebrate students, faculty, staff, and community partners who "make a difference in their own world and the world around them." 

These awards highlight the personal commitments Nazareth students, faculty and staff make towards leading a civically engaged life, working for social justice, and inspiring others to become caring, active and informed members of our society. We also recognize the integral role that our community partners play in co-educating our students through their numerous community engagement activities.

The following areas of recognition are awarded to students, faculty, staff and community partners at the annual President’s Civic Engagement Awards:

  • Alumni Association Senior Award
  • Dr. Marie Watkins Community Partner Award
  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award
  • Global Engagement Award
  • Jessica Shackelton Maclay Partners for Serving Award:
  • LGBTQ+ Education and Advocacy Award
  • Ms. Gaynelle Wethers Award
  • Newman Civic Fellowship Award
  • Partners for Learning Award
  • President’s Community Service Awards for Students, Faculty, Staff, and Community Partner
  • President’s Inclusive Excellence Award
  • Service-Learning Champion Award
  • Sr. Kathy Weider, SSJ Center for Spirituality Award
Award Details

Get Involved

Learn about the opportunities to get involved in the community.

Woerner Kollmorgen Award for Community Service

From 2007 to 2017, Nazareth College had the privilege of administering The Woerner Kollmorgen Award for Community Service. This award recognized individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the greater Rochester community, thereby improving the quality of life.

Recipients of the award: Naomi Silver, Dr. Richard Constantino, Gary Rogers, Dr. Walter Cooper, Bob Wayland-Smith, J. Christine Wilson, Justin L. Vigdor, Thomas J. Cray, Dr. T. Franklin Williams and Carter Catlett Williams, and Nydia Padilla-Rodriguez.

The award was made possible by a generous donation from Louise Woerner and Don H. Kollmorgen.

About Louise Woerner and Don H. Kollmorgen