School of Music

Concerts & Events

Policies for campus visitors are continually evolving in response to the developing Covid-19 conditions on campus and in our community. Check out all the details.

Concert Series 2022–2023

September

Thursday, September 1 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Opening Convocation

Friday, September 16 at 12:00 p.m.
Beston Hall
Workshop: American String Quartet

Friday, September 16 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall
American String Quartet
To purchase tickets

Saturday, September 17 at 11:30 a.m.
Wilmot Hall
Masterclass: American String Quartet

Sunday, September 18 at 4 p.m.
Beston Hall
Society for Chamber Music in Rochester Concert Series
cosponsored by School of Music
Tickets »


October

Sunday, October 2, All Day
Nazareth College Piano Competition

Sunday, October 9 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Recital

Thursday, October 13 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Saxophone 1 Studio Recital

Friday, October 14 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 1 Studio Recital

Friday, October 14 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Nazareth College Symphony Orchestra
Nancy Strelau, director

Sunday, October 16 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
A colorful array of shorter works for piano
Brian Preston, piano

Tuesday, October 18 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 2 Studio Recital

Thursday, October 20 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 3 Studio Recital

Friday, October 21 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Tuba/Euphonium Studio Recital

Saturday, October 22 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Family Weekend Student Recital

Sunday, October 23 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
So Cruel, so Tender: Passionate Expression of the Late French Romantic
Kimberly Upcraft, soprano; Jacob Ertl, piano; Tigran Vardanyan, violin; Margaret Leenhouts, violin; Ryan Hardcastle, viola 

Tuesday, October 25 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Horn/Bassoon Studio Recital

Thursday, October 27 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Percussion and Guitar Studio Recital

Friday, October 28 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Voice 4 Studio Recital

Friday, October 28 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
String 1 Studio Recital

Friday, October 28 at 7:30 p.m.
Teacher, Student, and a Virtuoso
Koki Tanaka, violin; E-Na Song, piano

Sunday, October 30 at 12 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recitals

Sunday, October 30 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Piano Duos
Yi-wen Chang, Bonnie Choi, Jacob Ertl, Gary Fisher, Kevin Nitsch, Sarah Rhee, pianos


November

Tuesday, November 1 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Clarinet/Oboe Studio Recital

Thursday, November 3 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Piano 1 Studio Recital

Friday, November 4 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 5 Studio Recital

Friday, November 4 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
String 2 Studio Recital

Friday, November 4 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall
Appalachian Spring
Nancy Strelau, conductor

Saturday, November 5 at 1:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recitals

Saturday, November 5 at 4:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recitals

Saturday, November 5 at 6 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recitals

Saturday, November 5 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recitals

Sunday, November 6 at 3 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Michael and Kyung Kim, guest piano

Tuesday, November 8 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Trombone Studio Recital

Thursday, November 10 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Flute 1 Studio Recital

Thursday, November 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Treble Choir
Eric Rubinstein, director

Friday, November 11 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Saxophone 2 Studio Recital

Friday, November 11 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
String 3 Studio Recital

Saturday, November 12 at 11 a.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recital

Saturday, November 12 at 12:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recital

Saturday, November 12 at 2 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recital

Saturday, November 12 at 4 p.m.
Linehan Chapel (livestream)
Chamber Singers
Eric Rubinstein, director

Saturday, November 12 at 6:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Senior Recitals

Sunday, November 13 at 3 p.m.
Linehan Chapel (livestream)
Telemann and the Canary
Britton Plourde, flute; Joe Finetti, bass; Margaret Leenhouts & Koki Tanaka, violins; Ryan Hardcastle, viola; Brian Donat, cello; Bonnie Choi, harpsichord

Tuesday, November 15 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Piano 2 Studio Recital

Tuesday, November 15 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Wind Symphony, and High School Side by Side
Jared Chase, director

Wednesday, November 16 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Night Flyers and Symphonic Band
Steven Zugelder and Jared Chase, conductors

Friday, November 18 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 6 Studio Recital

Friday, November 18 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Symphony Orchestra
Nancy Strelau, director

Saturday, November 19 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
MMPP Graduate Recital

Sunday, November 20 at 3 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
A Nordic Journey
Wilmot Wind Quintet

Monday, November 21 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Jazz Combos
Brad Batz, director

Tuesday, November 22 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Trumpet Studio Recital

Wednesday, November 30 at 8:30 p.m.
Beston Hall
Composition 1 Studio Recital

 


December

Friday, December 2 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Percussion Ensemble
Brendon Caroselli, conductor

Friday, December 2 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Composition 2 Studio Recital

Saturday, December 3 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall
Rose Marie and John Beston Annual Holiday Holiday Gala
Tickets: $10
To purchase tickets

Sunday, December 4 at 3 p.m.
Beston Hall

Rose Marie and John Beston Annual Holiday Holiday Gala
Tickets: $10
To purchase tickets

Saturday, December 4 at 4:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
MMPP Graduate Recital

Tuesday, December 6 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Chamber Music Studio Recital

Tuesday, December 6 at 8:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Rock Ensemble Concert

Thursday, December 8 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Jazz Ensemble/Lab Band
Brad Batz, director

Friday, December 9 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
MMPP Graduate Recital

Saturday, December 10 at 1 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
MMPP Graduate Recital

Saturday, December 10 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
MMPP Graduate Recital


January

Saturday, January 14 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
MMPP Grad Recital

Friday, January 13 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Recital

Sunday, January 22 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Ryan Hardcastle, viola

Friday–Saturday, January 27–28 at 7:30 p.m
Sunday, January 29 at 2 p.m.

Beston Hall
Opera Workshop
Emily Cuk, stage director; Kevin Nitsch, music director


February

Friday, February 3 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
The Violin Sonatas: Beethoven’s Podcast from the Eighteenth Century 
Margaret Leenhouts, violin; Kevin Nitsch, piano

Saturday, February 4 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Honors Recital

Sunday, February 5 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Wilmot Brass Quintet with guest Kristen Shiner McGuire

Friday, February 10, 3:30–9 p.m.
Saturday, February 11, 8:30 a.m.–4 p.m.
Annual High School Honor Band
More details and how to apply »

Friday, February 10, 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Wind Symphony and Music Educators Wind Ensemble
Jared Chase, director

Saturday, February 11, 3 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Honor Band
Jared Chase, director

Saturday, February 11, 5:00 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Sophomore Qualifying Recital

Sunday, February 12 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Recital

Thursday, February 17 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Symphony Orchestra
Nancy Strelau, director

Sunday, February 19 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Recital

Saturday, February 25 at 3:00 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Honors and Sophomore Qualifying Recitals

Sunday, February 26 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
From Darkness to Daylight-Songs of Hope for Soprano and Oboe
Angela Libertella Calabrese, voice; Judith Ricker, oboe

Tuesday, February 28 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 1 Studio Recital


March

Thursday, March 2 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Saxophone 1 Studio Recital

Friday, March 3 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Women in Music Student Performance Program

Friday, March 3 at 4 p.m.
Rehearsal Hall
Women in Music Panel Discussion

Sunday, March 5 at 3 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Women in Music Concert: In the Company of Women
Nazareth School of Music faculty

Sunday, March 5 at 6 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Sophomore Qualifying Recital

Tuesday, March 7 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 2 Studio Recital

Thursday, March 9 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Horn/Bassoon Studio Recital

Friday, March 10 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 3 Studio Recital

Friday, March 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Recital

Sunday, March 12 at 4 p.m.
Beston Hall
Society for Chamber Music in Rochester Concert Series
co-sponsored by School of Music
Tickets »

Sunday, March 19 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Faculty Recital

Tuesday, March 21 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Percussion/Guitar Studio Recital

Wednesday, March 22 at 12:10 p.m.
Hochstein School
Women in Music Festival: In the Company of Women
co-sponsored by WXXI and Hochstein School

Thursday, March 23 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Flute 1 Studio Recital

Friday, March 24 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Tuba/Euphonium Studio Recital

Friday, March 24 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Wind Symphony and Symphonic Band, and Brass Choir/Sax Ensemble
Jared Chase, director

Saturday, March 25 at 1 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Sophomore Qualifying Recital

Saturday, March 25 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Sophomore Qualifying Recital

Saturday, March 25 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Honors Recitals

Saturday, March 25 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Sophomore Qualifying Recitals

Saturday, March 25 at 7 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Tuesday, March 28 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
String 1 Studio Recital

Thursday, March 30 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 4 Studio Recital

Friday, March 31 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Saxophone 2 Studio Recital


April

Sunday, April 2 at 3 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Greater Rochester Women's Philharmonic
Nancy Strelau, director

Tuesday, April 4 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Trombone Studio Recital

Thursday, April 6 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Piano 1 Studio Recital

Friday, April 7 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 5 Studio Recital

Friday, April 7 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Strings 2 Studio Recital

Saturday, April 8 at 1 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 8 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 8 at 3:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 8 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Sunday, April 9 at 5 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Sunday, April 9 at 6:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Sunday, April 9 at 8 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Tuesday, April 11 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Clarinet/Oboe Studio Recital

Thursday, April 13 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Piano 2 Studio Recital

Friday, April 14 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Flute 2 Studio Recital

Friday, April 14 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Strings 3 Studio Recital

Friday, April 14 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Friday, April 14 at 7 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Friday, April 14 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Symphony Orchestra
Nancy Strelau, director

Friday, April 14 at 8:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 15 at 1 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 15 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 15 at 4 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 15 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 15 at 7 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 15 at 8:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Sunday, April 16 at 3 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
An Afternoon at the Café
Tigran Vardanyan, violin; Zachary Sweet, cello; Sarah Rhee-Tirré, piano

Sunday, April 16 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Sunday, April 16 at 7 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Tuesday, April 18 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Trumpet 1 Studio Recital

Tuesday, April 18 at 7:30 p.m.
Linehan Chapel (livestream)
Treble Choir Concert
Eric Rubinstein, director

Thursday, April 20 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Voice 6 Studio Recital

Thursday, April 20 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Jazz Ensemble/Lab Band
Brad Batz, director

Friday, April 21 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Performance Major Studio Recital

Friday, April 21 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Percussion Ensemble
Brendon Caroselli, conductor

Saturday April 22 at 4 p.m.
Linehan Chapel (livestream)
Chamber Singers Concert
Eric Rubinstein, director

Saturday, April 22 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Saturday, April 22 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Composition 1 Studio Recital 

Saturday, April 22 at 8:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Rock Ensemble Concert

Sunday, April 23 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Crossing Paths
Gary Fisher, piano

Sunday, April 23 at 5:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Sunday, April 23 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Senior Recital

Monday, April 24 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Jazz Combos
Brad Batz, director

Tuesday, April 25 at 12:10 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
CARS

Tuesday, April 25 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Composition 2 Studio Recital

Wednesday, April 26 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Symphonic Band, and Night Flyers
Jared Chase, Steven Zugelder, directors

Thursday, April 27 at 12:10 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Convocation

Friday, April 28 at 2:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall
Chamber Music Studio Recital

Friday, April 28 at 7:30 p.m.
Beston Hall (livestream)
Wind Symphony
Jared Chase, director

Friday, April 28 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Graduate Recital

Saturday, April 29 at 1:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Graduate Recital

Saturday, April 29 at 3 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Graduate Recital

Saturday, April 29 at 4:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Graduate Recital

Saturday, April 29 at 6 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Graduate Recital

Saturday, April 29 at 7:30 p.m.
Wilmot Hall (livestream)
Graduate Recital

Sunday, April 30 at 4 p.m.
Beston Hall
Society for Chamber Music in Rochester Concert Series
cosponsored by School of Music
Tickets »

Past Concerts

September 2021
October 2021
November 2021
December 2021
January 2022
February 2022
March 2022
April 2022
May 2022

JANE AND LAURENCE GLAZER MUSIC PERFORMANCE CENTER

Top acoustics: New center includes Beston Hall

Concert Series

    Nazareth College Wind Symphony
    Jacob Ertl: Stravinsky Finale from Firebird
    Nazareth Symphony Orchestra: Sarah Rhee-Tirré, piano
    Nazareth College Chamber Singers